Hurricane Harvey & Irma Tax Relief

IRS Offering Tax Relief for Victims of Hurricanes Harvey & Irma

In the wake of the devastation of Hurricane Harvey, and the recent disaster declaration by President Trump, the IRS is offering tax relief to Texas victims affected by the storm:

The declaration permits the IRS to postpone certain deadlines for taxpayers who reside or have a business in the disaster area. For instance, certain deadlines falling on or after Aug. 23, 2017 and before Jan. 31, 2018, are granted additional time to file through Jan. 31, 2018. This includes taxpayers who had a valid extension to file their 2016 return that was due to run out on Oct. 16, 2017. It also includes the quarterly estimated income tax payments originally due on Sept. 15, 2017 and Jan. 16, 2018, and the quarterly payroll and excise tax returns normally due on Oct. 31, 2017. In addition, penalties on payroll and excise tax deposits due on or after Aug. 23, 2017, and before Sept. 7, 2017, will be abated as long as the deposits were made by Sept. 7, 2017.

If an affected taxpayer receives a late filing or late payment penalty notice from the IRS that has an original or extended filing, payment or deposit due date that falls within the postponement period, the taxpayer should call the telephone number on the notice to have the IRS abate the penalty.

The IRS automatically identifies taxpayers located in the covered disaster area and applies automatic filing and payment relief. But affected taxpayers who reside or have a business located outside the covered disaster area must call the IRS disaster hotline at 866-562-5227 to request this tax relief.

As of 9/5/17, the following Texas counties have been approved for extended IRS deadlines:

  • Aransas
  • Bee
  • Brazoria
  • Calhoun
  • Chambers
  • Fort Bend
  • Galveston
  • Goliad
  • Harris
  • Jackson
  • Kleberg
  • Liberty
  • Matagorda
  • Nueces
  • Refugio
  • San Patricio
  • Victoria
  • Wharton
  • Colorado
  • Fayette
  • Hardin
  • Jasper
  • Jefferson
  • Montgomery
  • Newton
  • Orange
  • Sabine
  • San Jacinto
  • Waller
  • Austin
  • Batrop
  • DeWitt
  • Gonzales
  • Karnes
  • Lavaca
  • Lee
  • Polk
  • Tyler
  • Walker

Taxpayers can download forms and publications from the official IRS website,, or order them by calling toll free 800-829-3676.  Contact an R&G Brenner tax professional if you require assistance; (888) APRIL-15.

UPDATE 9-15-17

Likewise, the IRS is offering tax relief for those affected by Hurricane Irma.

The IRS is offering this relief to any area designated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), as qualifying for individual assistance. Parts of Florida, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands are currently eligible, but taxpayers in localities added later to the disaster area, including those in other states, will automatically receive the same filing and payment relief. The current list of eligible localities is always available on the disaster relief page on

Deadlines Extended For NY Taxpayers

Deadlines Extended

Due to Hurricane Sandy, the New York Department of Taxation has extended filing/payment deadlines.

For Release: Immediate, Thursday, November 15, 2012 
Contact: Geoffrey Gloak, 518-457-4242

The New York State Department of Taxation and Finance today announced the additional extension of certain tax filing and payment deadlines for taxpayers directly affected by Hurricane Sandy.

Deadlines have been extended to November 26, 2012.  This covers filings and tax payments due during the period beginning October 26, 2012 and before November 26, 2012. 

The extension also applies to protective claims associated with the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation Mobility Tax.

The ending date for the previously announced extension was November 14, 2012.

Find the details of today’s announcement on the “Hurricane Sandy Tax Relief” Web page at the Department’s Web site,  See document number N-12-16.



Hurricane Irene & Tropical Strom Lee Tax Relief

The NY State Department of Taxation has extended tax deadlines for NY taxpayers living in regions that President Barak Obama has declared disaster areas inflicted by Hurricane Irene & Tropical Strom Lee.

The Counties affected by Hurricane Irene:

  • Albany, Bronx, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan,Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester

If you reside in the above counties, you are afforded the following tax relief:

  • Most Filings & Payments extended to: October 31, 2011
  • Witholding payments extended to September 12, 2011
  • Metropolitan Commuter Transportation Mobility Tax (PrompTax) extended to: September 12, 2011

The Counties affected by Tropical Strom Lee:

  • Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Otsego, and Tioga.

If you reside in the above counties, you are afforded the following tax relief:

  • Most Filings & Payments extended to: October 31, 2011
  • Witholding payments extended to September 22, 2011
  • Metropolitan Commuter Transportation Mobility Tax (PrompTax) extended to: September 22, 2011

The relief also applies to taxpayers eligible for federal tax relief in counties in other states that are declared disaster areas because of this storm.  If you believe you qualify for tax relief or would like more information, please contact R&G Brenner today and we will assist you though this process.

Source: NYS Dept. of Taxation

IRS eases liability rule for spouse’s tax debt

The Internal Revenue Service is making it easier for some “innocent spouses” to escape liability for their husband or wife’s tax debt.

Under the law, taxpayers who file joint returns are generally liable for the tax debts of their partners. However, spouses who are unaware that their partners have underpaid federal income taxes or underreported their tax liability may qualify for relief from the IRS. The IRS had required innocent spouses to apply for relief within two years of the agency starting a collection action. But yesterday the IRS eliminated the two year time limit for some applications after lawmakers and advocates complained that many abused or divorced spouses may not become aware of IRS collection efforts for years. To qualify for relief, taxpayers must apply for an “innocent spouse” designation.